Sara and Daniel

Getting dirty in our garden, sliding across fresh snow on cross-county skis, and sitting around talking and eating a homemade meal, are a few of the things we love to do together as a family. We are Sara, Daniel and Luca, a family of three who hope to share our love of nature, gardening, cooking and family with another child. It would be our pleasure to get to know you.

We met twelve years ago on an archaeological dig when we were assigned to work together on Daniel’s first day of work. We fell in love while working long hot days in the woods and despite always being sweaty and covered in mud. After that we travelled around North America for work and went to graduate school overseas before finally settling down in Ontario. Now we have a home close to family and stable careers. Here is a brief introduction to who we are.

Sara

I am 36 years old and I am the child of immigrants. My mum is English and my dad is Italian. I have one younger brother, a young niece and a nephew (who is a few weeks younger than Luca). My immediate family all live nearby so there is always someone around to lend a hand.

I am a professional archaeologist, like Indiana Jones but without the whip. I spend my days getting very dirty, looking for interesting artifacts and occasionally chasing off a hungry black bear when someone brings tuna for lunch. My work has taken me all over Ontario, where I love learning about the history of each place I visit and about the culture and lives of the people I meet.

Here are a few things I enjoy:

  • Working in our vegetable garden and teaching Luca about how the plants grow.
  • Cross-country skiing in the woods after a fresh snowfall.
  • Curling up with a good book.
  • Sitting around the dinner table with family talking and eating.
  • Making homemade jam and bread.
  • Playing recreational soccer.
  • Sci-fi TV shows (anything Star Trek, Lost, X-Files).
  • Knitting new mittens or socks for Luca
  • Being the first to find an artifact that no one has seen for a very long time.

Daniel

I am 38 years old and I have three brothers and one sister (I am the second oldest). We are all close in age, so there was never a dull moment growing up. My parents divorced when I was young and I was raised by my mother. Despite this, I have developed a strong relationship with my father and stepmother.

I am also an archaeologist, but I work mainly in the mining industry. I process and present mineral exploration data using a bunch of different computer programs that spit out maps. My job has taken me to places like the Arctic and Africa, but these days I mostly work from home or in the nearby office.

Here are a few things that I enjoy:

  • Reading books with Luca and watching him grow.
  • Listening to music. Especially blues, rock-n-roll and jazz.
  • Downhill and cross country skiing.
  • Camping with family and friends.
  • Watching NFL football (Green Bay Packers).
  • Always reading a book (mostly non-fiction).
  • Making homemade pizza and salsa.

Parenthood

In 2009 we became parents for the first time when we adopted our son Luca. Since then we have found adoption and parenthood to be a wonderful and evolving experience. Luca is three years old and full of wonder and words. He loves to play outside, ride his bike and read books. We have been reading books with him since the day he arrived and he still can’t get enough of them. He will make a great big brother.

We know that no family is perfect. We all face challenges in life and everyone’s experiences are different and unique to the individual. We have both learned a great deal from the challenges we have encountered in our lifetime. It is our hope to give our children the self-confidence, discipline, and tools they need to help them make the best of whatever life has to offer.

Open Adoption

Open adoption is something we embrace. You will be welcomed and accepted as an extended member of our family. We recognize the importance of your relationship with your child and appreciate the positive influence it will have on your child’s development. We hope to develop an open adoption relationship with you that we are all comfortable with so that we can work together in the best interests of your child.

We hope this profile has given you a small glimpse of who we are. Thank you for taking the time to read it.

Sara & Daniel

For more information about this family, contact info@beginnings.ca ,
1-877-528-6665 or 905-528-6665